

## MINUTES OF THE EXECUTIVE POLICY COMMITTEE Thursday, February 20, 2025, 1:30 p.m. Zoom/2nd Floor Circle of Friends Community Room Rapid City, South Dakota

**MEMBERS PRESENT**: Sarah Gilkerson as proxy for Jafar Karim – South Dakota Transportation Commission, Vicki Fisher via proxy for Jason Salamun – Mayor of Rapid City, Larry Larson – Mayor of Box Elder, Pat Roseland – Rapid City City Council, Deb Hadcock and Jason Theunissen as proxy for Ron Weifenbach– Pennington County Commission, and Richard Liggett – Meade County Commission

**MEMBERS ABSENT**: Kevin Maher – Rapid City City Council, Talbot Wieczorek – Meade County Commission, Michael Knight – Box Elder City Council and Patrick Dame – Rapid City Regional Airport

**STAFF PRESENT**: Kip Harrington, Kelly Brennan and Melissa Bloomberg – Rapid City Department of Community Development

**OTHERS PRESENT:** Mike Carlson – South Dakota Department of Transportation, Greg Heitmann – Federal Highway Administration, and Gerry Eick – Citizen Interest potential TACC member

Chairman Larson called the meeting to order at 1:31 p.m.

Meeting quorum was met.

# **General Public Comment**

No Public Comment

Introduction of Committee Members and Gerry Eick.

Fisher moved, Hadcock seconded and motion carried unanimously to approve the February 20, 2025 Executive Policy Committee agenda with changes.

# **Business**

Fisher moved, Liggett seconded and motion carried unanimously to approve the minutes from the December 12, 2024 meeting.

**25TP001 – Approve the 2024 Unified Planning Work Program Annual Report.** Brennan reviewed the 2024 Annual Report listing the accomplishments and expenditures associated with the Unified Planning Work Program (UPWP) activities conducted during the past year. Discussion ensued regarding the funding in the Annual Report.

Hadcock moved, Liggett seconded and motion carried unanimously to approve the 2024 Unified Planning Work Program Annual Report.



**25TP002 – Approve the Letter of Support for the New Underwood Road Reconstruction BUILD Grant Application.** Harrington reviewed the grant application that will fund the preliminary engineering and environmental study for the future reconstruction of New Underwood Road from SD 34 south to Intersatte 90. Harrington advised that the letter should reference a BUILD grant application, not RAISE grant.

Hadcock moved, Fisher seconded and motion carried unanimously to approve the amended Letter of Support for the New Underwood Road Reconstruction BUILD Grant Application.

**25TP003 – Approve the Letter of Support for FY 2025 South Dakota DOT Highway 44 Grant Application.** Harrington reviewed the grant application to reconstruct two bridges on SD Highway 44 west of Rapid City. The project's primary focus is to raise and reconstruct two bridges on Highway 44 that have reached the end of their useful life. These structures can no longer safely withstand the increasing extreme weather events that our region now faces.

Liggett moved, Theunissen seconded and motion carried unanimously to approve the Letter of Support for FY 2025 South Dakota DOT Highway 44 Grant Application.

**25TP004 – Approve the Letter of Support for the City of Rapid City Chapel Lane Bridge Grant Program Application.** Harrington reviewed the grant application that is to replace Chapel Lane bridge in southwest Rapid City. The bridge on Chapel Lane provides the sole access point for Chapel Valley, a neighborhood of 500-plus households. The bridge is 50 years old and has met the end of its useful life.

Fisher moved, Gilkerson seconded and motion carried unanimously to approve the Letter of Support for the City of Rapid City Chapel Lane Bridge Grant Program Application.

**25TP005 – Approve the 2025-2028 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) Amendment #25-003.** This amendment adds funding in the Interstate Maintenance category to update the costs associated with the I-90 Variable Speed Limit project. Harrington reviewed this TIP amendment.

Fisher moved, Liggett seconded and motion carried unanimously to approve the 2025-2028 Transportation Improvement Program Amendment #25-003.

**Appointment to the Technical and Citizens Committee (TACC).** At the August 22, 2024 Rapid City Area Metropolitan Planning Organization meetings, the Executive Policy Committee approved a motion to revise the Operations Plan and Bylaws to create the Technical and Citizens Committee (TACC). The TACC is comprised of all of the members of the former Technical Coordination Committee, and two (2) representatives appointed by the Meade County Commission plus up to eight (8) members of the general public, formerly included in the Citizens Advisory Committee (CAC). Currently, there are two (2) Meade County representatives and four (4) members of the general public that are official members of the TACC. The MPO has received one (1) additional



applications for TACC membership from the general public. Harrington reviewed the member for approval.

Hadcock moved, Theunissen seconded and motion carried unanimously to approve the prospective TACC citizen representative.

Hadcock moved, Roseland seconded and motion to re-elect Larson as Chairman was carried unanimously.

Fisher moved, Hadcock seconded and motion to elect Roseland as Vice-chair was carried unanimously.

# **Update on Construction Projects**

Harrington provided information on current Rapid City construction projects. Carlson provided information on the current construction projects within the Rapid City Area Metropolitan Planning Organization area. Liggett gave additional project information for Meade County.

# **Update on Planning Projects**

Brennan and Harrington provided information on the current planning projects within the Rapid City Area Metropolitan Planning Organization area.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 2:20 p.m.